Articles of Confederation

Written in 1777 and ratified in 1781, the Articles of Confederation was a temporary legal charter of the United States, by which the former thirteen colonies established a confederation of sovereign states. By this legal instrument, the Continental Congress was in charge of foreign affairs and could borrow money and settle claims. In 1788, the Articles of Confederation was replaced by the US Constitution, which had been drawn up and signed in 1787.

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.