Battle of Breslau (1757)

The Battle of Breslau was a military engagement that took place in the context of the Seven Years War (1756-1763). It was fought between the Prussian Army and the Austrian forces on November 22, 1757, near Breslau, Prussia (today’s Poland). Having crossed the Lohe River, Prince Charles Alexander of Lorraine, the commander of the 80,000-men Austrian Army, launched a three-pronged assualt on the Prussian forces deployed on fortified areas. The first waves of attack began at dawn, using infantry and cavalry charges, and had been preceded by artillery volleys. Although the Prussians stubbornly held off the enemy’s attacks for about ten hours, the Prussian commander, the Duke of Brunswick-Bavern, ordered his army to retreat, which they did during the night. Before retreating, he left behind ten battalions in the city-fortress of Breslau, which would successfully be besieged by the Austrians. The Prussians suffered 5,500 casualties, while the Austrians lost about 5,000 men.

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.