Canadian Corps (WWI)

The Canadian Corps was a Canadian Army military unit that fought in World War I, at the battles of Ypres (1915), Somme (1916), Arras (1917), Cambrai (1917), Paschendaele (1917) and the 1918 Hundred Days Offensive. Being part of the British Expeditionary Force deployed in France, it consisted of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th Divisions, with only the latter not taking part in any military engagement. Each one of these divisions were composed of three brigades. From 1915 to 1919, the Canadian Corps had three commanders: Sir Edwin Alderson (1915-1916), Sir Julian Byng (1916-1917), Sir Arthur Currie (1917-1919).

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.