German Unconditional Surrender

The German unconditional surrendered that put an end to World War II on the Western Front took place at Lüneburg Heath, in Lower Saxony, northern Germany, on May 4, 1945. There, the German Head of State, Adm Karl Dönitz surrendered all the Wehrmacht forces that, until then, had been fighting in Northwestern Germany, the Netherlands, and Denmark, to the British Field Marshal Bernard Montgomery, the commander of the British 21st Army Group, which constituted the left flank of the Allied offensive against the German forces after the landing on Normandy.

Adm Karl Dönitz, the commander-in-chief of the German Navy, had been named Head of State (Staatsoberhaupt) by Adolf Hitler in his last will, on April 29, 1945, a day before he committed suicide. The German units in Italy surrendered to the Allies on the same day the Führer signed his final testament in his bunker. However, the final formal unconditional surrender that put a formal end to the war was signed by the Allies and the German Chief of Operations Staff Alfred Jodl on May 7. On the Eastern Front, Field Marshal Wilhelm Keitel, authorized by Dönitz, surrendered to the Soviet commanders in Berlin, on May 8, 1945.

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.