Legislative Assembly (1791-1792)

Formed in October 1791, the Legislative Assembly was the body of people vested with the power to make laws during the French Revolution. It consisted of 745 members, generally young citizens from the French middle class. Since none had sat in the National Assembly, they largely lacked national political experience. The Legislative Assembly first met on October 1, 1791, and dissolved in September 1792, to be replaced by the National Convention. Legislative Assembly did not last a year and was generally deemed a failure, leaving behind an empty treasury, an undisciplined army and navy, and enormous domestic turmoil.

The Right within the Assembly was composed of 165 moderate monarchists, who inclined in favor of a parliamentary monarchy; the Left, which was dominant during this period, comprised 330 Jacobins, which included the Girondins. The Left as a whole was openly anti-clerical anti-monarchical, openly favoring a republic. This political tendency were supported by the less privileged classes in Paris and throughout France. The remainder of the French Legislative Assembly, about 250 deputies, generally belonged to no definite party. In the early days of the Legislative Assembly, the king vetoed many of their radical measures, such as legislation against run-away or self-exiled royalists, passed November 9, 1791. This led to the suspension of the Louis XVI by the Jacobins, voting that a convention should be summoned to give France a new constitution.

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.