Raytheon Ballistic Missile Defense Systems

The Raytheon’s defense system against incoming enemy ballistic missiles, whose threat and risk are increasing in number and complexity. This defense system basically consists of the AN/TPY-2 radar, the standard surface-to-air Missile-3, and the exoatmospheric kill vehicle, which destroys enemy warheads while they are still in space.

Battle of Pleskau

The Battle of Pleskau was the Wehrmacht attack on the Russian city of Pleskau, also known as Pskov, during Operation Barbarossa, World War II. The battle began on July 7, 1941, with the city and its surrounding area falling in German hands on July 31, 1941. Pleskau is located in northwest Russia, south-southwest of Leningrad (Saint Petersburg), on the Velikaya River. It had been the former capital of Pskov Republic, until it was annexed by Russia in 1510, losing its democratic institutions.

The attack on Plescau was carried out by the German 4th Panzer Army and elements of the 16th Army, Army Group North, under the command of Field Marshal Wilhelm Ritter von Leeb. The city was captured and secured after fierce fight between the German forces and the Red Army on July 31. The Russian defense consisted mainly of reinforced concrete artillery emplacement.

Ferocious fighting during Battle of Pskov – Angriff auf Pleskau (footage)

Canadian Tanks in Action in Afghanistan

Canadian Army Leopard 2A6M main battle tanks during military operations in Afghanistan. The Leopard 2A6 is an advanced German tank. In 2007, Canada bought 20 of them from Dutch Army and borrowed another 20 2A6M. This model, which was deployed in Afghanistan, has additional armour that reinforces the chassis under the tank, protecting the crew members against mines. These German-made main battle tanks are armed with one 120mm, smooth bore, L55 gun.

German Order of Battle for Operation Barbarossa

During World War II, Adolf Hitler and Franz Halder, Chief of General Staff of the Wehrmacht, deployed three German army groups for the invasion of the Soviet Union, whose codename was Operation Barbarossa, which would begin on June 22, 1941. Each of these large military units was supported by one Luftwaffe’s air fleet. They were very successful until December 1941, when the Germans were at the gates of Moscow, then the tide of war began to change.

Order of Battle

– Under the command of Wilhelm Ritter von Leeb, Army Group North was made up of the 16th and 18th Armies, the 4th Panzer Group, and Air Fleet 1. Its 29 divisions had been massed in East Prussia before the beginning of the operation and they would attack eastward, across Luthania and Latvia, with their final objective being Leningrad.

– Led by Fedor von Bock, Army Group Center consisted of the 4th and 9th Armies, the 2nd and 3rd Panzer Groups, and Air Fleet 2. They totalled 49 divisions, which had been stationed in eastern Poland. They would strike deep across the center of the Russian plain, towards Minsk and Moscow. They had the mission of capturing the capital of the Soviet Union.

– Commanded by Gerd von Rundstedt, Army Group South was composed of 6th, 11th and 17th Armies, and the 1st Panzer Group under Ewald von Kleist, with the air support of Air Fleet 4. They were reinforced by the Romanian 3rd and 4th Armies. This army group’s 41 divisions would invade the Ukraine and take Kieve.

The Soviet terroritory was defended by the following Russian forces: the Northern Front, the North-Western Front, the South-Western Front, and the Southern Front. Each of these Fronts were composed of three Soviet armies approximately.