The Reichswehr was the name of the  two German armed forces which was in existence between 1919 and 1935, during the Weimar Republic. Abiding by the military limitations dictated by the Treaty of Versailles, it consisted of an army (Reichsheer) and a navy (Kriegsmarine). The army was composed, in turn, of seven infantry divisions and three cavalry divisions, totalling 100,000 men, under two group commands. The German navy was made up of only 15,000 sailors and officers. Artillery pieces bigger than 105mm in caliber were not allowed by the same treaty. Battleships and submarines were also prohibited. The Reichswehr was dissolved in 1935, when the new German chancellor, Adolf Hitler, created the Wehrmacht, which would grow in military might during the 1930s and participate in World War II.

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.