Third Reich

The Third Reich was the German nationalist State during the period Adolf Hitler was chancellor of Germany from 1933 to 1945. It replaced the Weimar Republic, whose Constitution was abolished by the new regime. Founded by the Nazi Party, it was extremely ideologized as it banned all other political parties and dissenters. As the German parliament was disbanded in 1934, the Third Reich was an authoritarian State, personified or incarnated by the Nazi Party chief, Adolf Hitler, who practically held all the three branches of government; executive, legislative, and judicial powers.

The objectives of the Nazi State was the recovery of Germany’s lost territories, the annexation of countries and land inhabited by German-speaking population, and the indoctrination of the youths; as a result, Austria and Czechoslovakia were annexed and Poland was invaded to recover the Polish corridor, triggering World War II. This period is also characterized by the persecution and nearly extermination of the European Jewish population, and media censorship. Under this totalitarian State, the nation and the race were more important than the individuals. It was called the Third Reich to differentiate it from the First Reich, which was the period of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation (962-1806), and the Second Reich, which was the German Empire, under Prussia, ruled by the Hohenzollern emperors (1871-1918).

Related posts:

Published by


Thor is Carlos Benito Camacho, the manager and writer of this blog.